top of page



In the United Methodist Church, Lay Leaders are members of the congregation that take an active role in the leadership of the church. These individuals typically serve in partnership with the pastor, act as connectors between church committees, serve the congregation, and intercede on the congregation's behalf with all governing bodies. 


Paula Renfro is our head Lay Leader (2023) and has been serving in a variety of ways over the years.  She currently leads the 9:30 am Sunday School class, and is actively involved with the United Methodist Women and OWLS.  She has led several mission teams from St. Thomas to El Salvador, and is an active golfer!  She is excited to serve as our Lay Leader!

Bill Coppa is our next Lay Leader (2024) and is the facilitator for the Friday evening small group and the Executive Director for Prosperity House, one of the church's mission partners.  This organization seeks to provide safe and affordable transitional housing to individuals and families who are homeless, to help residents increase their skills and income and to help them achieve greater self-determination and obtain and remain in permanent housing..  His work with Prosperity House grew out of his personal business as a tax practitioner and a real estate agent, which operates out of the commercial property adjacent to the church.

Perry Bailey is our third Lay Leader (2025) and is currently the chair of our Youth Council and the Pack Sunday School teacher.  Recently, he has served on the Adult Discipleship Team and is an active member of the Men's ministry.  

If you are not familiar with any of our Lay Leaders, please stop by and take a moment to say hello and let us know how we can best serve you and our church. Paula & Bill attend the 11:00 AM service and Perry is often at the 9:00 AM service.  We’re happy to listen and help where and when we can.  This is going to be a terrific year at St. Thomas!

Meet Our Church Council Leaders

Our Church Council meets monthly to coordinate and plan the ministry of St. Thomas.  Joe Steen serves as the 2022 Chair and Hunter Lenz is his Vice Chair (pictured on the back row, 5th and 4th persons from the left respectively).  The Northern Virginia District Superintendent, Rev. Dr. Sarah Calvert, is pictured in the front row, third from the left.

bottom of page